D-Serine

Also called D-Ser, dextro-serine, NMDA co-agonist D-serine.

The short answer

From 12 sources

D-serine is a brain signalling amino acid tested mainly as an add-on in psychiatric trials. One dose improved some attention and memory tests in healthy adults (grade D), but the largest trial, 195 people with schizophrenia on 2 g/day for 16 weeks, found no benefit over placebo, and a 2 g/day depression trial was also null overall.

Key facts

What it is
The D-form of serine, a natural co-agonist at the glycine site of NMDA glutamate receptors13
Largest trial
195 adults with schizophrenia, 2 g/day added to antipsychotics for 16 weeks: no difference from placebo on negative symptoms or cognition3
Pooled schizophrenia data
A 2025 network meta-analysis (148 trials, 12,339 patients) listed add-on D-serine 2–4 g/day among agents with moderate-to-high certainty of benefit in one or more outcome domains; the largest single trial was null123
Healthy adults
One 2.1 g dose raised blood D-serine at least 200-fold at 2 hours and improved some attention and verbal-memory scores1
Usual trial dose
30 mg/kg/day (about 2 g/day); 60–120 mg/kg/day only in a pilot trial and an open-label study with laboratory monitoring3745
Depression trial
2 g/day added to usual care for 6 weeks did not beat placebo overall in 44 inpatients6
Kidney signal
Kidney tubule damage at high doses in rats (not mice or rabbits); one person in human studies had abnormal kidney values that resolved after stopping9

What it is

D-serine is the mirror-image form of the amino acid serine; in the brain it helps switch on NMDA glutamate receptors.

How it works

Proposed

NMDA receptors need a co-agonist bound at their glycine site before glutamate can open them, and D-serine is one of the body's own co-agonists. Trials test oral D-serine on the theory that stronger NMDA signalling could support learning and some psychiatric symptoms; whether usual oral doses change brain signalling enough to matter has not been shown.134

Forms

Form

The form on this page
FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
D-serine powder or capsulesVaries1Not applicable (single compound; no elemental fraction)A single 2.1 g oral dose raised serum D-serine at least 200-fold at 2 hours; plasma levels rose with dose across 30–120 mg/kg/day.15Reported as well tolerated in the healthy-adult, schizophrenia, PTSD and depression trials, which ran laboratory safety checks.1376Cognition in healthy adults; add-on trials in schizophrenia, psychosis risk, depression and PTSD

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

8 graded outcomes, largest study first

8 graded outcomes: 6 improved, 2 no effect. The largest, a 2012 randomized trial of 195 people on negative symptoms and cognition in schizophrenia (add-on to antipsychotics), found no effect. Outcomes that improved came from smaller studies: a median of 39 people, against 120 for no effect.

1Negative symptoms and cognition in schizophrenia (add-on to antipsychotics)

No effect · No-effect grade · RCT, 195 people, 2012

Adults with schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder stable on antipsychotics, with persistent negative symptoms (multicenter)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Negative symptoms and cognition in schizophrenia (add-on to antipsychotics)No effect195No-effect grade · RCT, 2012Adults with schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder stable on antipsychotics, with persistent negative symptoms (multicenter)
Spatial memory and problem solving (healthy older adults)Improved50Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2016Healthy older adults (Brazil)
Auditory learning (pitch plasticity) during cognitive remediation in schizophreniaImproved45Grade D · RCT, 2023Adults with schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder on stable antipsychotics (USA)
Depressive symptoms, anxiety and anhedonia (add-on in major depression)No effect44Grade D · RCT, 2025Adult inpatients with moderate-to-severe major depression (Switzerland)
Symptoms and cognition at 30–120 mg/kg/day (schizophrenia, no placebo)Improved42Grade D · Open-label trial, 2010Adults with schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder stable on antipsychotics (USA)
Negative symptoms in people at clinical high risk of psychosisImproved35Grade D · Pilot RCT, 2015People aged 13–35 at clinical high risk of schizophrenia (4 US centres)
Mood, attention and verbal memory after one dose (healthy young adults)Improved35Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2015Healthy adults aged 23–29 (Israel)
Anxiety and PTSD symptom scoresImproved22Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2009Outpatients with chronic PTSD (Israel)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

8 rows

Showing 8 of 8 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade DSpatial memory and problem solving (healthy older adults)CognitionImprovedCrossover RCT
n 50 · 2016

Improved Groton Maze learning test performance improved versus placebo, more so in people whose blood D-serine rose most; other cognitive tests and mood did not change.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 50, 2016
Population
Healthy older adults (Brazil)
Form
Oral D-serine
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
Not stated in the abstract (crossover with placebo)
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 26933803 (opens PubMed)
Grade DAuditory learning (pitch plasticity) during cognitive remediation in schizophreniaSchizophreniaImprovedRCT
n 45 · 2023

Improved Overall treatment effect on plasticity improvement (p = .014), largest at 80 and 100 mg/kg (d > 0.67); the within-group change at 120 mg/kg was not significant. Mismatch negativity was larger at 100 mg/kg than placebo (d = 1.0).

Design
RCT, n = 45, 2023
Population
Adults with schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder on stable antipsychotics (USA)
Form
Oral D-serine
Dose
80, 100 or 120 mg/kg once weekly with auditory training (12 D-serine and 3 placebo per dose cohort)
Duration
3 weekly visits
Source
Reference 10 · PubMed 36958998 (opens PubMed)
Grade DDepressive symptoms, anxiety and anhedonia (add-on in major depression)DepressionNo effectRCT
n 44 · 2025

No effect Depression, anxiety and anhedonia scores fell in both groups with no significant difference overall; in a subgroup analysis, people with severe depression improved more on D-serine.

Design
RCT, n = 44, 2025
Population
Adult inpatients with moderate-to-severe major depression (Switzerland)
Form
Oral D-serine
Dose
2 g/day added to usual treatment
Duration
6 weeks
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 40436209 (opens PubMed)
Grade DSymptoms and cognition at 30–120 mg/kg/day (schizophrenia, no placebo)SchizophreniaImprovedOpen-label trial
n 42 · 2010

Improved Symptom and neuropsychological scores improved across doses, with larger cognitive gains at 60 mg/kg/day or more; there was no placebo group.

Design
Open-label trial, n = 42, 2010
Population
Adults with schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder stable on antipsychotics (USA)
Form
Oral D-serine
Dose
30, 60 or 120 mg/kg/day
Duration
4 weeks
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 20541910 (opens PubMed)
Grade DMood, attention and verbal memory after one dose (healthy young adults)CognitionImprovedCrossover RCT
n 35 · 2015

Improved Self-rated sadness and anxiety were lower, attention (CPT-IP) improved and one verbal-memory measure improved versus placebo; the dose was well tolerated.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 35, 2015
Population
Healthy adults aged 23–29 (Israel)
Form
Oral D-serine
Dose
2.1 g single dose
Duration
Single dose per session (crossover with placebo)
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 25554623 (opens PubMed)
Grade DNegative symptoms in people at clinical high risk of psychosisPsychosis riskImprovedPilot RCT
n 35 · 2015

Improved Negative-symptom scores improved more than with placebo (effect size d=0.68, p=0.03). Across both groups, 2 participants left for laboratory-confirmed adverse events and 2 converted to psychosis.

Design
Pilot RCT, n = 35, 2015
Population
People aged 13–35 at clinical high risk of schizophrenia (4 US centres)
Form
Oral D-serine
Dose
60 mg/kg/day in divided doses
Duration
16 weeks
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 26360284 (opens PubMed)
Grade DAnxiety and PTSD symptom scoresAnxietyImprovedCrossover RCT
n 22 · 2009

Improved Hamilton Anxiety and Mississippi PTSD scale scores improved versus placebo; the main clinician PTSD scale (CAPS) showed only a trend (p=0.07). Well tolerated.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 22, 2009
Population
Outpatients with chronic PTSD (Israel)
Form
Oral D-serine
Dose
30 mg/kg/day, alone or added to medication
Duration
6 weeks per period
Source
Reference 7 · PubMed 19366490 (opens PubMed)
No effectNegative symptoms and cognition in schizophrenia (add-on to antipsychotics)SchizophreniaNo effectRCT
n 195 · 2012

No effect Both groups improved, with no significant difference between D-serine and placebo on negative symptoms (11.4% vs 14.8%) or MATRICS cognition (6.8% vs 6.1%). D-serine was well tolerated.

Design
RCT, n = 195, 2012
Population
Adults with schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder stable on antipsychotics, with persistent negative symptoms (multicenter)
Form
Oral D-serine
Dose
2 g/day
Duration
16 weeks
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 22795211 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

The biggest trial was null

The only adequately powered single trial (195 people with schizophrenia, 2 g/day for 16 weeks) found no difference from placebo, even though pooled analyses of smaller trials favour add-on D-serine.31112

How we got this: Evidence table on this page

Healthy-adult data are short-term

Both healthy-adult studies were small crossover tests, one of a single dose; neither tested months of use.12

How we got this: Study designs in the evidence table

Weight-based doses add up

At 30 mg/kg/day a 70 kg adult would take about 2.1 g; the 120 mg/kg/day arm would be about 8.4 g a day.5

How we got this: 70 kg × 30 mg/kg and × 120 mg/kg

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from a single 2.1 g dose in healthy adults to 30 mg/kg/day (about 2 g/day) for 6–16 weeks in controlled trials; 60–120 mg/kg/day was used only with laboratory monitoring, in a 4-week open-label study, a 16-week pilot trial and a 3-week trial of once-weekly doses.13674510

When trials measured an effect

2 outcomes
How long trials ran before effects were measured
OutcomeMeasured atBasis
Mood and attention in healthy adultsSame day as a single 2.1 g dose (blood D-serine up at least 200-fold at 2 hours)35-person crossover study1
Auditory learning in schizophreniaAfter the first weekly dose, sustained over the next two45-person randomized trial, 80–120 mg/kg once weekly10
When each outcome was assessed in the cited trials. It is not a promise of when anyone will notice a change.

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What D-Serine meets

1 cited row

Medicines 1

D-Serine1 medicine · 0 supplements

Supplements and foods 0

No supplement rows in our sources.

  • Reference summary
Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

1 agent
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines1
ClozapineIn a meta-analysis of 40 placebo-controlled trials (4,937 patients) of seven NMDA-receptor add-ons including D-serine, the add-ons as a group were effective only with antipsychotics other than clozapine. This is a class-level finding on benefit, not a D-serine-specific test or a safety interaction.11Review

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between D-Serine and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against D-Serine.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

5 groups
People on psychiatric medicines
Every patient trial gave D-serine on top of prescribed medicines under specialist supervision, and the largest trial found no benefit over placebo. It is not a treatment for schizophrenia, psychosis or depression outside a supervised trial.36
Kidney disease
High doses (over 500 mg/kg) reliably damage kidney tubules in rats, though not in mice or rabbits. Across published human studies a safety review found one person with abnormal kidney values, which resolved within days of stopping; trials checked kidney labs throughout.9
Higher doses
Doses of 60 mg/kg/day and above were tested only with laboratory monitoring; in one such trial 2 participants stopped for laboratory-confirmed adverse events.45
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
No reliable data: the cited trials give no safety data for pregnancy or breastfeeding, and D-serine has no LactMed entry.13
Children and teenagers
Only one cited trial included teenagers (from age 13), under specialist care.4
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Reading the label, and the cost per dose

Compare any product you already have by the amount it delivers, not by capsule count or front-of-pack weight.

How to read the label

2 checks
Label dose vs studied dose

Controlled trials used about 2 g/day (30 mg/kg/day). The healthy-adult attention and memory results came from a single 2.1 g dose, not daily use.371

D-serine is not L-serine

L-serine is the common dietary form and a precursor the body uses to make D-serine; results for one form do not transfer to the other, or to phosphatidylserine.82

Cost per studied dose, without the sales pitch

Your numbers, no product data

Enter the price, servings and the amount per serving from your label.

Formula: price ÷ (servings × amount per serving) × reference amount. Use the amount printed on the Supplement Facts panel, not the front-of-pack compound weight. Reference amounts are what trials studied or official limits, not advice for you. We don't rank or link products in this calculator.

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

5 answers
Does D-serine improve memory?

In two small crossover studies of healthy adults it improved some attention or spatial-memory tests, while most other tests did not change. No long-term trial in healthy people exists.12

Does D-serine help depression or anxiety?

A 6-week trial of 2 g/day in 44 inpatients with major depression was null overall. A 22-person PTSD crossover trial reported lower anxiety scores.67

Is D-serine safe?

Trials of up to 16 weeks described it as well tolerated, with laboratory monitoring. Concern comes from rats, whose kidneys are damaged by high doses; across human studies one person had abnormal kidney values that resolved after stopping. Doses above 30 mg/kg/day were tested only under supervision, and long-term safety data are lacking.3459

Is D-serine the same as L-serine?

No. L-serine is the dietary form and a precursor of D-serine. The two have been tested in different conditions, so their results are not interchangeable.8

What did the schizophrenia trials find?

The largest trial (195 adults, 2 g/day added to antipsychotics for 16 weeks) found no difference from placebo. Pooled analyses of smaller trials favour add-on D-serine; one found NMDA-receptor add-ons as a group helped only with antipsychotics other than clozapine. Higher-dose pilot studies were small.3111245

Sources

12 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

12 sources
  1. 1Behavioral and cognitive effects of the N-methyl-D-aspartate receptor co-agonist D-serine in healthy humans: initial findings.Crossover RCT J Psychiatr Res, 2015 · PMID 25554623
  2. 2The effect of D-serine administration on cognition and mood in older adults.Crossover RCT Oncotarget, 2016 · PMID 26933803
  3. 3A multicenter, add-on randomized controlled trial of low-dose d-serine for negative and cognitive symptoms of schizophrenia.RCT J Clin Psychiatry, 2012 · PMID 22795211
  4. 4D-serine for the treatment of negative symptoms in individuals at clinical high risk of schizophrenia: a pilot, double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomised parallel group mechanistic proof-of-concept trial.Pilot RCT Lancet Psychiatry, 2015 · PMID 26360284
  5. 5High dose D-serine in the treatment of schizophrenia.Open-label trial Schizophr Res, 2010 · PMID 20541910
  6. 6Adjunctive d-serine treatment for major depressive disorder: A randomized clinical trial.RCT J Affect Disord, 2025 · PMID 40436209
  7. 7Pilot controlled trial of D-serine for the treatment of post-traumatic stress disorder.Crossover RCT Int J Neuropsychopharmacol, 2009 · PMID 19366490
  8. 8Potential benefits of l-serine in children with GRIN2B loss-of-function variants: Randomized n-of-1 trials.RCT Mol Genet Metab, 2025 · PMID 41265180
  9. 9D-Serine: A Cross Species Review of Safety.Systematic review Front Psychiatry, 2021 · PMID 34447324
  10. 10Dose-Dependent Augmentation of Neuroplasticity-Based Auditory Learning in Schizophrenia: A Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Randomized, Target Engagement Clinical Trial of the NMDA Glutamate Receptor Agonist d-serine.RCT Biol Psychiatry, 2023 · PMID 36958998
  11. 11Efficacy of N-methyl-D-aspartate receptor modulator augmentation in schizophrenia: A meta-analysis of randomised, placebo-controlled trials.Meta-analysis J Psychopharmacol, 2021 · PMID 33406959
  12. 12Augmentation with glutamatergic modulators for schizophrenia: A network meta-analysis.Meta-analysis Prog Neuropsychopharmacol Biol Psychiatry, 2025 · PMID 40945815

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

4 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidence, key facts, interactions, who should avoid, studied doses, insights, time to effect, FAQ, questions, relatedAdded a 2023 randomized trial of once-weekly 80–120 mg/kg D-serine with auditory training in schizophrenia (grade D; n and safety from PMC full text), a 2021 meta-analysis of 40 placebo-controlled trials and a 2025 network meta-analysis of 148 trials (cited in key facts and FAQ, not graded rows, as neither abstract gives a D-serine-specific n). Added the clozapine interaction (NMDA-receptor add-ons as a class showed no benefit with clozapine) from the 2021 meta-analysis. Checked LiverTox and LactMed (no D-serine entries) and made the pregnancy note explicit. Replaced the FAQ item that repeated the page's own "What is" question; added time-to-effect rows, page questions and the focus goal-hub link. Searched 2023–2026 PubMed: no newer D-serine trials in healthy adults, depression or PTSD.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
allFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, journal and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for each cited row.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page
allAdversarial review pass: every number in each evidence row's result, dose, duration, n and population fields was machine-checked against its PubMed abstract, and figures not in an abstract were confirmed in the PMC full text (noted per row). Unverified study-country, funding and mechanism wording was removed or sourced, rows whose sample size could not be confirmed were dropped, and retraction, erratum and expression-of-concern flags were checked on every PMID (two errata, noted on their rows; no retractions). Page set indexable.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review
safetyIndependent review: added the rat kidney-toxicity signal and human kidney-lab finding from a 2021 cross-species safety review (PMID 34447324, checked via esummary), a kidney-disease caution, and clearer wording that patient use belongs in supervised trials.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.