Ceramides (oral phytoceramides)
Also called phytoceramides, oral ceramides, glucosylceramide, glycosylceramides, wheat ceramides, konjac ceramide.
Best grade C across 7 graded outcomes Other Last checked
We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes our grades or rankings. How we make money →
The short answer
From 12 sourcesOral ceramide supplements, usually wheat oil extract or konjac glucosylceramides, are sold for dry skin. Several small placebo-controlled trials found better skin hydration or less water loss within 2 to 12 weeks, and a 2022 meta-analysis agreed. Benefits faded after stopping, trials were short, and almost all were funded by ingredient makers.
Quick pick
From a partner brand · paid linkLife Extension Skin Restoring Ceramides, 30 liquid vegetarian capsules
from HerbsPro
Label: 1 capsule: 350 mg Ceratiq wheat (Triticum vulgare) oil extract providing glycolipids, phytoceramides and glycosylceramides.
Best for trying one bottle: $18.75 one-time (checked Oct 15, 2026).
Every graded outcome on this page
7 rows · line = participants- CGrade CDry skin, water loss and wrinklesSkin hydrationn 72
- CGrade CWrinkles and skin hydration in middle-aged womenWrinklesn 64
- CGrade CSkin hydration in women with dry skinSkin hydrationn 51
- CGrade CSkin dryness and related signsSkin hydrationn 51
- DGrade DSkin barrier, pigmentation and wrinkles (uncontrolled)Pigmentationn 50
- DGrade DSkin barrier water lossSkin barriern 29
- DGrade DSkin water loss and dryness in winterSkin barriern 17
- 4 more graded outcomes, in the evidence chapter
Key facts
- What it is
- Plant or yeast ceramides and glucosylceramides taken by mouth; ceramides make up 35 to 40% of the intercellular cement that binds skin cells25
- Top studied outcomes
- Skin hydration up (C); transepidermal water loss down (C); wrinkles and roughness better in two wheat-lipid trials (C)234678
- Studied dose range
- 0.8 mg/day dihydroceramide or 1.8 mg/day yeast glucosylceramide up to 350 mg/day wheat extract oil, for 4 to 12 weeks972
- Pooled evidence
- A 2022 meta-analysis found oral ceramides raised skin hydration and lowered water loss vs placebo8
What it is
Oral ceramides (phytoceramides) are plant- or yeast-derived skin lipids, such as wheat oil extract or konjac glucosylceramides.
Forms, side by side
3 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.
Ceramides (oral phytoceramides) forms compared
3 forms| 3 forms | Wheat extract oil (wheat phytoceramides) | Konjac glucosylceramides | Wine lees, yeast, rice and acetic-acid-bacteria ceramides |
|---|---|---|---|
| Absorption in people | No human absorption data in the cited studies.2 | No human absorption data in the cited studies.5 | No human absorption data in the cited studies.67 |
| GI tolerance | Well tolerated over 3 months in the 51-woman trial.2 | No adverse events over 6 weeks.5 | No supplement-related adverse events in the wine lees trial; a 4-week trial of about 9 mg/day ceramide from acetic acid bacteria in 30 adults found no adverse effects or clinically concerning blood or urine changes.610 |
| Studied for | Skin hydration, wrinkles (350 mg/day) | Skin dryness and redness (100 mg extract/day) | Skin barrier water loss (wine lees, yeast); skin hydration (0.8 mg/day dihydroceramide from acetic acid bacteria for 12 weeks); pigmentation and wrinkles (rice, uncontrolled) |
- Wheat extract oil (wheat phytoceramides)
- Konjac glucosylceramides
- Wine lees, yeast, rice and acetic-acid-bacteria ceramides
- GI tolerance
- No supplement-related adverse events in the wine lees trial; a 4-week trial of about 9 mg/day ceramide from acetic acid bacteria in 30 adults found no adverse effects or clinically concerning blood or urine changes.610
- Studied for
- Skin barrier water loss (wine lees, yeast); skin hydration (0.8 mg/day dihydroceramide from acetic acid bacteria for 12 weeks); pigmentation and wrinkles (rice, uncontrolled)
What the human research says
Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.
Trial map
7 graded outcomes, largest study first7 graded outcomes: 6 improved, 1 mixed. The largest, a 2024 randomized trial of 72 people on dry skin, water loss and wrinkles, found an improvement.
1Dry skin, water loss and wrinkles
Improved · Grade C · RCT, 72 people, 2024
Women with dry and wrinkled skin, at least 10 postmenopausal per group
Dose, result and source| Outcome | Found | People | Study | Who was studied |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dry skin, water loss and wrinkles | Improved | 72 | Grade C · RCT, 2024 | Women with dry and wrinkled skin, at least 10 postmenopausal per group |
| Wrinkles and skin hydration in middle-aged women | Improved | 64 | Grade C · RCT, 2019 | Healthy women aged 45 to 60 |
| Skin dryness and related signs | Improved | 51 | Grade C · RCT, 2020 | Healthy adults aged 18 to 60 (India) |
| Skin hydration in women with dry skin | Improved | 51 | Grade C · RCT, 2011 | Women aged 20 to 63 with dry to very dry skin (France) |
| Skin barrier, pigmentation and wrinkles (uncontrolled) | Improved | 50 | Grade D · Open-label trial, 2022 | Healthy adult volunteers aged 21 and over |
| Skin barrier water loss | Mixed | 29 | Grade D · RCT, 2024 | Healthy Japanese adults aged 20 to 64 |
| Skin water loss and dryness in winter | Improved | 17 | Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2018 | Healthy Japanese volunteers in winter |
Every graded row
7 rowsShowing 7 of 7 outcomes. Human trials only.
CGrade CDry skin, water loss and wrinklesSkin hydrationBetter skin while taking itRCT
n 72 · 2024
Improved Hydration, smoothness and elasticity rose and water loss, roughness and wrinkle depth fell from day 14 versus placebo, including in postmenopausal women; none of the gains lasted after stopping.
- Design
- RCT, n = 72, 2024
- Population
- Women with dry and wrinkled skin, at least 10 postmenopausal per group
- Form
- Wheat polar lipid complex (oil or powder)
- Dose
- Not stated in the abstract
- Duration
- 56 days, plus 56 days off supplement
- Source
- Reference 4 · PubMed 38100124 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CWrinkles and skin hydration in middle-aged womenWrinklesFewer wrinkles, better hydrationRCT
n 64 · 2019
Improved Crow's-feet wrinkle score fell versus placebo, reaching a 1-grade improvement at week 12; facial and leg hydration improved, and roughness and radiance improved to week 8.
- Design
- RCT, n = 64, 2019
- Population
- Healthy women aged 45 to 60
- Form
- Wheat extract oil polar lipids
- Dose
- Not stated in the abstract
- Duration
- 12 weeks, plus 8 weeks follow-up
- Source
- Reference 3 · PubMed 31033133 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CSkin hydration in women with dry skinSkin hydrationBetter arm and leg hydrationRCT
n 51 · 2011
Improved Skin hydration rose significantly more than with placebo on the arms (p < 0.001) and legs (p = 0.012); dermatologist-scored dryness and redness did not differ significantly, and self-rated hydration only trended better (p = 0.084).
- Design
- RCT, n = 51, 2011
- Population
- Women aged 20 to 63 with dry to very dry skin (France)
- Form
- Wheat extract oil rich in ceramides and digalactosyl-diglycerides
- Dose
- 350 mg/day
- Duration
- 3 months
- Source
- Reference 2 · PubMed 20646083 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CSkin dryness and related signsSkin hydrationLess dryness and rednessRCT
n 51 · 2020
Improved Skin dryness, hyperpigmentation, redness, itching and oiliness decreased significantly versus placebo (p < 0.05) on dermatological assessment; no adverse events.
- Design
- RCT, n = 51, 2020
- Population
- Healthy adults aged 18 to 60 (India)
- Form
- Amorphophallus konjac extract standardised to 5% glycosylceramides
- Dose
- 100 mg/day (5 mg glycosylceramides)
- Duration
- 6 weeks
- Source
- Reference 5 · PubMed 32020853 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DSkin barrier, pigmentation and wrinkles (uncontrolled)PigmentationBefore-after improvementsOpen-label trial
n 50 · 2022
Improved Skin hydration, firmness, elasticity and wrinkle severity improved and water loss, melanin and redness indexes fell from baseline on the cheek, neck and forearm (p < 0.01); older participants responded more.
- Design
- Open-label trial, n = 50, 2022
- Population
- Healthy adult volunteers aged 21 and over
- Form
- Rice (Oryza sativa) ceramides
- Dose
- 40 mg/day rice ceramide capsule (full text)
- Duration
- 3 months, with monthly visits (full text)
- Source
- Reference 11 · PubMed 35807914 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DSkin barrier water lossSkin barrierLess water loss; hydration unchangedRCT
n 29 · 2024
Mixed Water loss (the primary outcome) was lower than placebo at 12 weeks (p = 0.04) but not at 8 weeks (p = 0.07); hydration, itch and quality-of-life scores did not differ.
- Design
- RCT, n = 29, 2024
- Population
- Healthy Japanese adults aged 20 to 64
- Form
- Wine lees extract ceramides and glucosylceramides
- Dose
- Not stated in the abstract
- Duration
- 12 weeks
- Source
- Reference 6 · PubMed 38999848 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DSkin water loss and dryness in winterSkin barrierLess water lossCrossover RCT
n 17 · 2018
Improved Forearm water loss fell more with glucosylceramide (−1.26 vs −0.97 g/m²·h; p = 0.01); brown spots decreased (p = 0.04) and chapped skin improved (p = 0.04) versus placebo.
- Design
- Crossover RCT, n = 17, 2018
- Population
- Healthy Japanese volunteers in winter
- Form
- Torula yeast (Candida utilis) glucosylceramide
- Dose
- 1.8 mg/day
- Duration
- 4 weeks per period
- Source
- Reference 7 · PubMed 30175789 (opens PubMed)
Atopic dermatitis (eczema) in children
1 noteA single controlled study whose abstract does not say it was randomized or blinded, so it is not graded.
- Konjac ceramide, 2 weeks
- In a 2006 study of 50 children with moderate atopic dermatitis and house-dust-mite allergy, 1.8 mg/day of konjac ceramide for 2 weeks lowered SCORAD eczema scores and skin-prick responses, while the milk-sugar control group did not change. No later trial in our sources has repeated it.12
What the numbers add up to
Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.
Benefits last only while taking it
In the 72-woman wheat lipid trial, hydration and wrinkle gains seen from day 14 were gone 56 days after supplements stopped.4
Consistent, but maker-funded
Studied doses
Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.
Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.
Doses studied in human trials
When trials measured an effect
3 outcomes| Outcome | Measured at | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Hydration, roughness and wrinkle depth | Day 14, sustained to day 56; gone 56 days after stopping | Wheat polar lipid complex versus placebo in 72 women, measured at days 14, 28 and 56 and after a 56-day stop4 |
| Skin water loss (wine lees ceramides) | Week 12; not yet significant at week 8 | 29 adults versus placebo6 |
| Forearm water loss (yeast glucosylceramide) | Week 4 | 1.8 mg/day in a 17-person winter crossover trial7 |
Interactions and safety
Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.
Interactions
0 agentsNone found in our sources.
Check with what you take
Kept on this device onlyAdd what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Ceramides and your picks, and between your picks.
- Loading names…
Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Ceramides.
Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.
Who should be careful
3 groups- Pregnancy, breastfeeding and children
- NCCIH notes that many dietary supplements have not been tested in pregnant women, nursing mothers or children. LactMed has no ceramide entry, and no trial in our sources enrolled pregnant or breastfeeding women.1
- Medicines and surgery
- No drug interactions are documented in our sources (LiverTox and LactMed have no ceramide entries). NCCIH advises that supplements may interact with medications or pose risks before surgery, and to tell your health care providers about everything you use.1
How to read the label
What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.
Where to buy Ceramides (oral phytoceramides)
Products from brands we partner with that contain Ceramides (oral phytoceramides). Check the amount per serving against the doses studied above, and the label for other ingredients.
Ceramides (oral phytoceramides) products from partner brands
1 product Paid links · we earn a commission- Quick pickHerbsProLife Extension Skin Restoring Ceramides, 30 liquid vegetarian capsules
1 capsule: 350 mg Ceratiq wheat (Triticum vulgare) oil extract providing glycolipids, phytoceramides and glycosylceramides
$18.75one-timeChecked Oct 15, 2026
Frequently asked questions
Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.
Common questions
5 answersDo ceramide supplements work for dry skin?
Do the effects last after stopping?
No. In a 72-woman trial, the gains were gone 56 days after the supplement stopped.4
Do ceramide supplements help eczema (atopic dermatitis)?
The evidence is thin. One 2006 study in 50 children with moderate atopic dermatitis found lower eczema scores after 2 weeks of 1.8 mg/day konjac ceramide versus a milk-sugar control, but it was small, short and has not been repeated in our sources.12
Are ceramide supplements safe, and what are the side effects?
No serious problems have been reported. A 2022 review of oral skin supplements found them safe in trials of up to about 24 weeks, a 4-week trial of roughly 9 mg/day ceramide in 30 adults found no adverse effects, and the konjac and wine lees trials reported no supplement-related adverse events.81056
Sources
12 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.
Sources cited on this page
12 sources- 1Using Dietary Supplements WiselyFact sheet National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), 2019 · nccih.nih.gov
- 2The moisturizing effect of a wheat extract food supplement on women's skin: a randomized, double-blind placebo-controlled trial.RCT Int J Cosmet Sci, 2011 · PMID 20646083
- 3Polar lipids from wheat extract oil improve skin damages induced by aging: Evidence from a randomized, placebo-controlled clinical trial in women and an ex vivo study on human skin explant.RCT J Cosmet Dermatol, 2019 · PMID 31033133
- 4Dietary supplementation with a wheat polar lipid complex improves skin conditions in women with dry skin and mild-to-moderate skin aging.RCT J Cosmet Dermatol, 2024 · PMID 38100124
- 5Potential benefits of oral administration of AMORPHOPHALLUS KONJAC glycosylceramides on skin health - a randomized clinical study.RCT BMC Complement Med Ther, 2020 · PMID 32020853
- 6Efficacy and Safety of Oral Administration of Wine Lees Extract (WLE)-Derived Ceramides and Glucosylceramides in Enhancing Skin Barrier Function: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study.RCT Nutrients, 2024 · PMID 38999848
- 7Effect of Torula Yeast (Candida utilis)-Derived Glucosylceramide on Skin Dryness and Other Skin Conditions in Winter.Crossover RCT J Nutr Sci Vitaminol (Tokyo), 2018 · PMID 30175789
- 8Effectiveness of Dietary Supplement for Skin Moisturizing in Healthy Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials.Meta-analysis Front Nutr, 2022 · PMID 35719159
- 9Safety and Efficacy of Oral Intake of Ceramide-Containing Acetic Acid Bacteria for Improving the Stratum Corneum Hydration: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study over 12 Weeks.RCT J Oleo Sci, 2020 · PMID 33055441
- 10Safety Evaluation of the Excessive Intake of Ceramide-Containing Acetic Acid Bacteria - A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study Over a 4-week Period.RCT J Oleo Sci, 2021 · PMID 33658470
- 11Effect of Rice (Oryza sativa L.) Ceramides Supplementation on Improving Skin Barrier Functions and Depigmentation: An Open-Label Prospective Study.Open-label trial Nutrients, 2022 · PMID 35807914
- 12Improvement of atopic dermatitis and reduction of skin allergic responses by oral intake of konjac ceramide.Open-label trial Pediatr Dermatol, 2006 · PMID 16918640
What changed
Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.
Change log
2 entries| Date | Change | Who and why |
|---|---|---|
| evidence, research notes, forms, studied doses, time to effect, who should avoid, key facts, FAQ, questions, related | Added an uncontrolled rice-ceramide study (2022, 50 people, grade D), a research note on a 2006 konjac-ceramide study in children with atopic dermatitis (controlled, not stated as randomized, so not graded), a 2020 12-week acetic-acid-bacteria ceramide trial (0.8 mg/day; its abstract gives no participant count, so it informs the forms table and studied doses, not a graded row) and a 2021 4-week high-intake safety trial (30 adults). Added time-to-effect rows, a wheat-allergy label note, safety and eczema FAQ (the timing FAQ moved to the time-to-effect table; the dose FAQ was dropped because the page's studied-dose section answers it), page questions and a goal-hub link. PubMed search 2023–2026 found no oral-ceramide meta-analysis newer than 2022 and no new trials beyond the 2024 rows. LactMed and LiverTox have no ceramide entries; no drug interactions documented. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md |
| all | Initial editorial evidence review. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, year, journal; none retracted) and each cited abstract read; every number comes from the abstracts. Funding and conflicts disclosed per study from the abstract statements (Hitex copyright, Robertet and Seppic authors, Vidya Herbs funding, Pharma Foods sponsorship, KOHJIN co-author). The 2022 meta-analysis abstract does not give pooled participant numbers, so it appears in key facts and insights rather than as an evidence row. Safety rows use NCCIH's general supplement guidance only; no oral-ceramide page exists on our approved safety sources. Where to buy: Life Extension Skin Restoring Ceramides (label checked 2026-10-15). | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page |
Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.
